Discount mulberry bag john lewis Outlet Lehman among Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame inductees

Discount mulberry bags prices Outlet Lehman among Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame inductees

A prominent journalism pioneer and Edmond resident, Dr. Paul R. Lehman, will be among nine outstanding journalists honored during the 47th Anniversary induction ceremonies of the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame Thursday, April 27, at the University of Central Oklahoma in Edmond.

Dr. Paul R. Lehman became the first African American newsperson on Oklahoma City television in 1968 at KWTV 9, and the first African American professor at UCO in 1976.

Other honorees are James Beaty, managing editor of the McAlester News Capital; Steve Booher, retired from the Cherokee Messenger Republican: John Durkee, news director for the University of Tulsa NPR station, KWGS; Lis Exon, news manager and journalist for OETA Tulsa; Carla Hinton, religion editor for The Oklahoman; Randy Krebiel, government politics reporter for the Tulsa World; Ralph Schaefer, veteran newsman for suburban Tulsa newspapers; and Gene Triplett, retired news, entertainment journalist,
Discount mulberry bag john lewis Outlet Lehman among Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame inductees
The Oklahoman.

At KWTV, Dr. In 1969 he was co creator and host of “Soul Talk,” an African American community affairs show. His broadcast career began with radio news commentary at KCSC in Edmond in 1967. at Lehigh, He served UCO as English professor and dean of the graduate college. He’s written numerous books and journalistic and scholarly articles. He’s listed in Who’s Who Among Black Americans and in American Education. Dr. Lehman has served on many state boards and councils and lectured throughout Oklahoma and other states. degrees from UCO. on the third floor of the Nigh University Center, across from the Hall of Fame exhibition, said Dr. Terry M. Clark, director. Master of ceremonies will be Mark Thomas, executive vice president of the Oklahoma Press Association.

More than 200 journalists, friends and families are expected for the Hall of Fame. UCO President Dr. Don Betz will welcome the crowd.

“The annual ceremony has become an informal homecoming for honorees and families. The Hall is a virtual Who’s Who of Oklahoma Journalism, and the crowd will be filled with the giants of the profession,” Clark said.

Also to be honored are three UCO journalist students, recipients of the Brian J. Walke ethics scholarship and the OPA Award for outstanding promise in newspaper journalism.

Deadline for reservations is April 20. Invitations are in the mail, and luncheon reservations are available for $20 a person, mailing checks to Terry Clark, payable to UCO, 100 N. University Drive, Edmond, OK 73034. For those who register and pay in advance, there will be no standing in line.

After 20 years as director of the Hall, Clark announced his retirement from UCO, and the appointment of Joe Hight as director beginning May 1.

“I’m excited and pleased that a journalist and Hall of Fame member of Joe’s stature has agreed to take over, ” Clark said. “It’s time for new blood to lead the Hall as it approaches its 50th anniversary and some challenges. His journalistic and management experience will serve the Hall well.” Hight also serves as the Edith Kinney Gaylord Chair of Journalism Ethics at the UCO Department of Mass Communication.

Framed citations are on display in the Hall of Fame in the Nigh University Center at the University of Central Oklahoma. The UCO Department of Mass Communication is the host and administrator of the Hall.

The Hall of Fame was founded in 1971 by former Journalism Chairman Dr. Ray Tassin. This year’s inductees make 418 total members,
Discount mulberry bag john lewis Outlet Lehman among Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame inductees
all of whom are carried on the website. The Hall is supported with funding from UCO.